{Life List}: A Non-Fiction Workshop

Let me start it with a nice quote on pinterest.

learn

 

I love learning and get very excited when ever I had an opportunity to learn something new -especially for free. For me, it doesn’t matter if at the end I didn’t like it. Its the willingness to learn and the effort to enjoy the process that matters.

Last Saturday, I joined a short workshop on non-fiction writing. A friend of mine informed me about the workshop and I just signed up. No hesitation at all. I even forgot that I had it on my life list. Turned out that I wrote about Joining a writing course there. Its amazing how universe brought me to fill my forgotten list. I just feel the need of going out and having new experience.

So.. the workshop was held in Millenia Book Store -never been there before-, a not so big book store (comparing to Gramedia) but somehow I like the air of the store itself. The speaker/mentor of the event was Said Al-Khudry aka. @profesorcintaid, the author of ‘Pacaran Mulu, Kapan Putusnya??’. I honestly haven’t read the book but at least I already have it now. Will definitely read it after finish reading my on -going one.

millenia

The workshop was fun and exciting. We watched  this video before starting the workshop (I recommend you to watch it). I even got a notebook for giving my opinion about it. Then we talked about the definition of non-fiction itself before we go deeper into material on premise, writer’s block and writing techniques. What make it more fun is that we had a chance to practice. Yup. We practiced how to create a premise, how to write a paragraph from 3 words given and basic knowledge on Mind Mapping. I remember that I have read a book about Mind Mapping from Tony Buzan years ago. Seems that I have to read it again 😉

As in my personal opinion, above all the given material, I got new knowledge on how a script turn into a book -since the moderator was from Mizan Publishing who explain a lot about it. I learnt that every one (actually) has the probability to be a writer. No matter their background is. The important is, to be consistent in what they’re doing. I think almost every successful person done it. Consistent.

In that case I will take a baby step for myself. I challenge myself to (at least) post twice a week on March 2017. *fingercrossed

Love,

untitled

2 thoughts on “{Life List}: A Non-Fiction Workshop

  1. 🙂 yay! I hope you keep up your new resolve!! More posts please 🙂 the workshop sounds great – I also joined a writing workshop this year bcoz it was on my ‘life goals list’ to write more and I love it, got to do my homework for it 2mro! What are ‘mind maps’? How do they help you write? I’d love to read a post about that please if you are interested in writing about it 🙂 have a great week, Em

Leave a Reply

